Buried Alive

As the shovel hits the dirt of the earth, more things become unsettled. Rocks, bugs and ugly things pop up unexpectedly. The shovel keeps moving the dirt. The ground can no longer feel the pain after the initial sting. A hole is now forming and it’s getting deeper with each swing of the shovel. My hands are getting dirty and sweat is dripping from my brow. I start to think the hole is deep enough for what I need to plant, but I hear a still small voice saying go deeper. My hands are cramping up from all the work that I’m not used to. I thought this would be quick, yet I’ve been out here for over 2 hours. Digging up dirt and making a big hole with something small to plant. Lord, Why??? No response. The hole is very deep now and the once hard dirt is now soft. Not sure if it’s from my sweat or tears. Suddenly, the winds start raging as I try to run for cover, but I fall into the hole. The winds continue and the dirt I moved is now blowing over me. I scream for help, but no one hears me. I’m feeling the heavy weight and pressure against me and I can no longer fight against it. Help me Lord…..don’t you hear my cries?? I’m buried alive with the weight of life against me. There’s no way out, but use what I have to get out. The shovel didn’t fall with me. My hands are getting raw from digging. I lay still to rest for what it seems like weeks or even months. A new sense of peace washes over me. I feel a hand rest on my shoulder saying it’s time to grow. Are you ready to leave the dead things behind and grow with the newness of all I have prepared for you? I kept hearing the question over and over. I had no more fight left in me, so I softly said, “yes”. There was a sudden trembling of the ground that began to shake violently. I felt like I was catapulted from the deepest depths of the earth. I was now standing on the dirt which once held me bound. Thank you Jesus for your Grace and Mercy. “I’m free” was all I could scream!!!  I searched in my pockets for the seeds I was supposed to be planting….only to realize I was the seed!! 

Join me as my journey continues…………….
For as the soil makes the sprout come up and a garden causes seeds to grow, so the Sovereign Lord will make righteousness and praise spring up before all nations.  Isa.61.11.NIV 

The cords of death entangled me, the anguish of the grave came over me; I was overcome by distress and sorrow. Then I called on the name of the Lord : “ Lord , save me!” For you, Lord , have delivered me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling, that I may walk before the Lord  in the land of the living.  Psalm 116:3‭-‬4‭, ‬8‭-‬9 NIV

Leave a Reply

