Change, Weight Loss, Oh what a journey ahead!

image

Ahhhh…the joys and pains of a weight loss journey! You try sooooo many things you hear about from family, friends or in stores. This is one of the most talked about subjects. What works and what doesn’t. Most of the time it boils down to us not staying the course. If we don’t see quick results like we planned in our mind or comparing ourselves to others, we quit and fall back into our “normal” eating habits.

I’m starting on my new journey and learning so much! Finally, this is for me. Not anyone else, my husband said he loves me just the way I am. He said he doesn’t look at my weight, but me. The sweetest most heartfelt words ever. I was trying awhile ago for the wrong reasons. My insecurities, my wrong thinking, my self image was stuck on pictures from years ago. Have you ever looked in the mirror, looking for your old self that was no longer there? I did for far too long. I didn’t bridge the gap too well of what God spoke to me about years ago. So I started looking for plus sized women on tv and social media to comfort myself.

I allowed God to change the inside while I do the outside. Wrong again? Yes! It wasn’t until this morning when I realized…..you have to deny your flesh for everything. Ahhhhhh….it is now I understand why this time what I have been doing is working.

A detox is ridding your body of unhealthy waste. I went through a spiritual detox that day up in the mountains when I surrendered my all to God. It was the sinful nature hanging on I needed to release before God could do exactly what He wanted to do with me. Many times there are areas we hold onto thinking we can fix or when I’m done enjoying “it” I’m all yours. Well, that’s not how God works. He wants us to be obedient to His will and His way for us. Yes, He loves us and forgives us, yet He also directs us in His word to repent and turn away from the sin.

After returning from the mountains, I drank a detox tea. Little did I know, I was in for the next starting point of my journey. I was still trying to put old ways..ie junk food and sweets in a new body. It began making me have terrible stomach pains, gas and bloating.  Wow, as I’m typing made me think of a scripture I shared yesterday from Matthew 9 about New wine in Old wine skins. You can’t do it or it will burst. I couldn’t keep contaminating my new body with old food. Wow…look at God.

I gave up pleasing my flesh to certain sin, but not realizing my poor food choices was gratification to my flesh as well. No self discipline at all. After 2nd detox, my body began rejecting chocolate and curving my sweet cravings. Two things I’ve always loved and never thought I could give up on. I would do it for awhile then give in.

This time is different because I’m doing it with God as my guide. God wants to be involved in every aspect of your life. He told me I’m preparing you for greater works and I need you to get ready. I understand now I needed to learn self discipline on my own with Him. Food was the way because I  can’t by myself. He gets all the Glory for my weight loss journey.

I’ve changed my eating habits, given up certain foods for what I thought was to prepare me for some weight loss drops called resolution. Not realizing he used that to get my attention. I wanted to start on my own to know I could do this, despite how hard I thought this process would be. It’s a lifestyle change. I can’t return to the old me in the mirror, now I accept the new me that’s staring back. Flawed and Fabulous I like to say. I’m not perfect by any means, I just know where my true help and strength comes from…God!

A few days ago, I weighed myself and I’m down 4 lbs in 2 days. Omg…I am so excited. Thank you God for working on me. I know now that self discipline and correct food choices were working. Food had me, but no longer! I have food. I’ve tried new foods, fruits I thought I was allergic too can now be eaten organically grown, given up some things as well. Finding food replacements is key.
It comes down to preparing ourselves for new things. Just like a new job, you going through new training to learn their ways as with your body. You must find new things to replace the old or you will return to it what you have given up. Just like when you give up sinful things, you must replace it with God’s word. So you are prepared to fight when temptation comes. God’s word tells us about when your house is swept clean from the legion of demons, we must replace it or they come back too numerous and stronger. His word will bring about revelation in any situation in your life. You have to be ready to receive it and obey it.

I have given up sugar, which seems to be in everything, no flour, no chocolate. Talk about major staples, but with God I have done it for over a week and don’t miss it.

I work with an elderly gentleman who is about to be 96 and I exercised with him yesterday. It felt good. He couldn’t believe it and was excited for me. He exercises 30 min every day and I’ve been working with him for over a year, I realizes I was too embarrassed to work out. Time to get over myself and do it. Needless to say, I’m so very humbled and thankful for what God is doing in my life right now. He says, I’m more than a conqueror through Him….and we are tearing down walls of hindrances that were preventing me to fulfill my purpose. The fact I’m able to identify it and speak about it is a testimony in itself.

Preparing for the process of change doesn’t always look or feel good, yet it works for my good!

2 thoughts on “Change, Weight Loss, Oh what a journey ahead!

Leave a Reply

