Dare To Be Different!

Are you different from people around you? Are your thoughts always considered left field whenever in a discussion?  Have you ever avoided speaking to keep the peace?  Well, if you answered yes…keep reading. I’m so different, I could be considered weird. I can laugh now, but a while ago I didn’t know how to handle it. I was taught to blend in with my surroudings and not go against the grain by one parent and the other told me its ok to be different. The older I got, I struggled with those old ways from my parents. A few family and friends will laugh if they saw me write this admitting to what they have always said. I am just who God made me to be…Karyn! The old saying of agree to disagree is the best lesson anyone can learn which leads to excellent dynamics of conversation. When we realize we can’t change another person’s opinion, this world would be a great place to live for all humanity. Why do we conform so much that we lose ourselves? The answer is we do it without even recognizing it until consequences arise. They can be anything from the inner turmoil, conflicts, and the silence that we fall victim to.

For example, you arrive at a dinner party a few minutes late of course to make a grand entrance. Conversations are buzzing all over the room. You join your closest co-workers as they are discussing being in unhealthy relationships. They are all stating they would leave, yet from personal experience you have stayed. As your palms get sweaty and all eyes fall on you for a response…..
Do you….
A: agree with them and say you would leave too
B: politely excuse yourself and go to the bathroom
C: answer truthfully how you feel
D: avoid the question and bring up another topic

Whatever your choice is, you must be truthful with yourself and say why. This can be your turning point to why we say some weird stuff or how to stand on our own in a conversation.
The ability to step outside of the box, it’s a giant step, but we all must do it at some point in our lives.

A confined life is just a dead one. No new growth, no new goals, plans or dreams to help not only yourself but others. 

God will send the right person and give us the correct words to speak. We just need to follow his instructions and move ourselves out of the way. Just ask!

Remember, we are all different for a reason, so embrace what makes you…YOU! Step out in Faith and Dare to Be dIfFEReNt!

Jeremiah 1:4-9 NIV

The word of the Lord came to me, saying,   “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”   “Alas, Sovereign Lord ,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.”   But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord .   Then the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “I have put my words in your mouth.

image

Leave a Reply

