Video Game Wife & Momma

Can you believe I get in trouble in my own house for not properly knowing about video games? You may wonder why? Well, I’m the only woman in a house full of men. Yes, three sons and a husband. Even down to our male dog, Goldie, who went to doggie heaven. Well, I didn’t have a clue how to play video games the correct way. I grew up with Atari. There I go showing my age…LOL Frogger, Pac-Man, Ms. Pac-Man, Centipede were all my games. Girly stages set in and video games began collecting dust. During my brief college year, street fighter was my game. I won a lot against the guys there. Only problem, I just pushed all the buttons and I guess it was pure luck because I had no clue what I was doing.

Fast forward many years as the kids got older. I did participate when Kinect first came out playing the dancing games, then on XBox360 playing guitar hero, and rock band. Now those were some fun times in our household.  I felt like I belonged and was a part of something in my own house. They actually requested me to come participate. I was so excited, I don’t think they ever really knew how much that meant to me. Once, I tried playing Gears of War and needless to say that’s where my video game playing ended. I couldn’t shoot to save my life. Their gaming habits changed and the more confused I became.

I quickly drifted away and the more I didn’t understand the fascination of them playing video games all the time. My husband, especially, because I wanted him to spend more time with me. I used to complain and I know I got on his last nerve. He was in the house and not out, so why should I complain? He would stop and console me to keep peace, yet slowly but surely the cycle began again.

After many years, I finally sat down last night and talked about video games. Before I tell you, I must give you a glimpse of who he is. Even before I dated him, we worked together and I knew he loved video games. He absolutely loves technology and built himself a phenomenal gaming computer. With every game system in our house, as well as a monthly subscription to Gamefly, they are gamers for life. He even makes videos of game play for his youtube channel. I give it to him, he’s very good at it. I wouldn’t even have the patience to do what he does. They all play online with their friends which is a good thing.

Before you say well the kids play too much, not in my house they don’t. During the school week, no games until the weekend and after all chores are done. They are smart, active kids in sports so that’s not a concern.

Back to me learning about the industry of video games. My husband quickly explained that it’s like an art form to him. I of course asked why? He went on to explain how detailed the graphics are, how celebrities were now doing voice overs, how long the process takes to make a video game and much more. He was so excited and detailed that it caused me to see a new light in him. He also explained the money behind gamers and benefits of YouTube channels. He said it’s a billion dollar industry.  My ears perked up because maybe he can make money doing something he truly loves. I will always support him in what he loves and technology is #1!

My lesson learned is don’t knock it til you try it. But if you tried it and it wasn’t for you at least have an open dialogue to listen from the other person’s point of view. When I opened my mind to really listening to him, things changed for me. I’m still gonna ask him from time to time, when is he coming up from the basement. I have to have some fun at being a wife…LOL Now, I will do it sparingly with a better understanding of what he enjoys! Or maybe I will try a game, that I enjoy!

Hey…Where there’s a will, there’s always a way!!

Just Listen sometimes…You might learn something valuable!

image

3 thoughts on “Video Game Wife & Momma

Leave a Reply

